Placing a resiliency group in maintenance mode
Using the Resiliency Platform 10.4 console, you can place a resiliency group in maintenance mode.
It is recommended to place the resiliency group in maintenance mode if you want to add or remove data disks from the virtual machines. On placing the resiliency group on maintenance mode, replication is paused and the data on the target data center remains consistent.
When you place a resiliency group in maintenance mode no operations can be performed on the resiliency group, also no risks are raised by Resiliency Platform for the group. If the replication technology used is Resiliency Platform Data Mover or Resiliency Platform Data Mover with VMware vSphere APIs for I/O Filtering (VAIO) framework, then the replication is also paused while the resiliency group is in maintenance mode. If NetBackup integration is done or 3rd party replication technology is used, then replication is not paused.
Putting a resiliency group in maintenance mode is useful when you have to complete some maintenance tasks such as upgrades on the virtual machines.
Although risks are not raised during the maintenance mode period, if there are any risks that were raised before the resiliency group was placed in maintenance mode and those risks persist after exiting the mode, then the risks are shown.
See Viewing the current risk report.
See Viewing the historical risk report.
If a Virtual Business Service (VBS) consists of a resiliency group which is in maintenance mode, then you cannot perform any operations on the VBS. Similarly you cannot execute a resiliency plan if it has a resiliency group that is in maintenance mode.
A notification is generated every 24 hrs and you can configure an SNMP or email alert to receive these notifications.
To place a resiliency group in maintenance mode
- Navigate
Assets (navigation pane) Resiliency Group(s) tab
- Use the filters or search to locate your resiliency group.
- On the row for the resiliency group, select the vertical ellipsis > Enter Maintenance Mode.
To remove a resiliency group from maintenance mode
- Navigate
Assets (navigation pane) Resiliency Group(s) tab
- Use the filters or search to locate your resiliency group.
- On the row for the resiliency group, select the vertical ellipsis > Exit Maintenance Mode.