Editing a resiliency group
Using the Resiliency Platform console, you can edit a resiliency group. Depending on whether the resiliency group is configured for basic monitoring or for disaster recovery (DR), the editable panels change. If the resiliency group is configured for basic monitoring, then you can add or remove the assets and edit the group name.
If the resiliency group is configured for disaster recovery, you see different options for edits such as, customize the networks or edit the entire configuration. When you edit the entire configuration the panels displayed are based on the recovery data center.
The option to customize the network is useful in the following scenarios:
During the migrate operation if the IP address is already in use on the target data center, then the migrate operation fails. In this case you can use the edit customize network option to edit the IP address and re-run the migrate operation. It is also useful to fix an incorrect IP address.
While configuring the resiliency group for disaster recovery, if the check box for IP customization was not selected, you can use this option to edit the IPs and save the effort required in redoing the entire configuration.
You can uninstall Veritas Resiliency Platform Guest Customization Agent from the virtual machine that is removed from a resiliency group (which is DR protected). To uninstall the agent, 'Power off' or 'Shutdown' and then 'Power On' the virtual machines from vCenter. The agent is uninstalled after an hour after the virtual machine restarts. You can verify that the Agent has been uninstalled by looking at the list of installed programs in the virtual machine guest.
If you grow a disk of a virtual machine that belongs to a resiliency group (which is DR protected) , then the Resiliency Platform raises a risk. You then need to edit the resiliency group to first remove the virtual machine and then edit again to add the virtual machine.
Resiliency Platform does not support growing the disk size as part of configuration drift. But if you still want to expand or grow the disk size without performing the full sync operation, refer To grow disk as part of configuration drift edit
If you add or remove a data disk of a virtual machine that belongs to a resiliency group (which is DR protected) , then the Resiliency Platform raises a risk. You then need to edit the resiliency group to resolve these risks.
When you have added a new data disk or removed a data disk from the virtual machine, it may happen that the data does not remain consistent on source and target data center. Hence, it is recommended to first place the resiliency group in maintenance mode, edit the desired changes and exit the maintenance mode. Also, it is recommended to refresh the cloud discovery and refresh the host if you plan to edit the resiliency group immediately after making the disk configuration changes.
Note:
This note is applicable when configuring virtual machines to cloud where source and target data center is cloud (AWS and Azure).
If the instance userdata is updated after creating resiliency group, IMS discovery should be invoked and then edit the resiliency group should be performed on that resiliency group by selecting the Edit configuration option. This results into instance userdata getting updated into the database and ensure that the updated userdata is reflected on target data center after migrating the virtual machines.
See Editing a resiliency group in maintenance mode.
While editing the resiliency group that is already configured for DR, if the status of the virtual machines on the recovery data center is not correctly displayed, then you need to refresh the cloud discovery or the virtualization server discovery.
From version 3.5, you can enable or disable the Continuous Data Protection (CDP) mechanism for the resiliency group while selecting the Replication Gateway pair. While editing the resiliency group, you cannot change the CDP storage listed in the Replication Gateway pair if the CDP is already enabled.
Note:
You cannot edit a resiliency group if it is online on the cloud data center. Since version 3.5 of Resiliency Platform, in case of Azure cloud and Azure Stack you can edit resiliency group on these data centers.
If a Windows host is already configured for DR, and then a non-initialized data disk is added to IDE controller, you need to do the following in the sequence mentioned:
Initialize the disk.
Reboot the host.
Refresh the Hyper-V server.
Edit the resiliency group, remove the host, and complete the operation.
Edit the resiliency group again to add the host.
To edit the resiliency group information
- Navigate
Assets (navigation pane) Resiliency Group(s) tab
- Locate the resiliency group. Use filters or Search as needed.
- The steps for editing the resiliency group are the same as creating it.
On the row for the resiliency group, select the vertical ellipsis > Edit.
You can also edit the resiliency group from its Details page.