User sessions and authentication
The permissions for user sessions and authentication allow users to view and manage the following:
See API keys.
See User certificates.
See User sessions.
These permissions allow a user to view and manage NetBackup API keys.
A NetBackup-authenticated user can view and manage their own API key using the web UI. If a user is not assigned to a role, the user can use the NetBackup APIs to manage their API.
Table: RBAC permissions for API keys
Operation | Description | Additional required operations |
|---|---|---|
View | View API keys. | |
Create | Create API keys. | View |
Update | Change the expiration date for an active API key. | View |
Delete | Delete API keys. | View |
Manage access | See Manage access. |
These permissions allow a user to view and manage the configuration that allows NetBackup authentication with user certificates or smart cards. Note: Authentication domains must be configured for the primary server before you can configure and enable smart card authentication.
Table: User certificates
Operation | Description | Additional required operations |
|---|---|---|
View | View settings for smart card authentication. | Security > Global security settings > Update |
Create | Upload external CA certificates to the smart card authentication trust-store. | Security > Global security settings > Update |
Delete | Delete external CA certificates from the smart card authentication trust-store. | Security > Global security settings > Update |
Manage access | See Manage access. |
Note:
Users also need permissions to view the in User sessions. See NetBackup hosts.
These permissions allow a user to view and manage user sessions and user account settings.
Table: RBAC permissions for user sessions
Operation | Description | Additional required operations |
|---|---|---|
View | View active user sessions. | |
Update | Enable, update, or disable sign-in banner configuration in the . | View NetBackup management > NetBackup hosts > View |
Enable, update, or disable the following settings in the .
| Update NetBackup management > NetBackup hosts > View NetBackup management > NetBackup hosts > Create NetBackup management > NetBackup hosts > Update | |
Close user session | Close the selected user sessions. | View |
Close all user sessions | Close all user sessions. Without this permission, the administrator can only close the selected user sessions. | View |
Unlock | Unlock a user that has an account that is locked out of NetBackup. | View locked |
View locked | View any users that are locked out of NetBackup. | |
Manage access | See Manage access. | View |