Performing factory reset for a node not in a cluster
Use this procedure to factory reset a node that is not in a cluster. When you initiate a factory reset, the node is reset to its default factory settings and to the factory-installed image. The password is set to its original known default value. The storage configuration and the data is not deleted.
To factory reset a node that is not in the cluster:
- Using SSH, log on to the Access Appliance shell menu of the node.
- From the Main_Menu navigate to the Support menu and enter the following command:
Main_Menu > Support > FactoryReset
Information about the factory reset operation is displayed and a message that notifies you that the storage cannot be reset.
- Confirm that you want to continue with the factory reset operation and reset the node.
- Specify whether you want to reset the network configuration. If you enter no, the DNS and IP configuration information is deleted. The host name is reset to its default irrespective of whether you choose to delete or retain the network configuration. If you enter yes, the network configuration is deleted.
- Specify whether you want to restart the node after the factory reset is complete. Veritas recommends that you choose to restart the node automatically after the factory reset operation is complete.
- Review the selected options and the summary of changes.
The following message is displayed. If you want to begin the factory reset operation, enter yes.
>> Caution: The appliance is ready for factory reset. This process cannot be reversed! Do you want to proceed? [yes, no] (no) yes
The following message is displayed:
-[Info] Running factory reset. This process can take up to 20 minutes... -[Info] The appliance is restarting...