Preparing a client for restore
Before you restore a client, you must prepare to restore (PTR) the client.
During a prepare-to-restore operation, the NetBackup master server does the following:
Retrieves the client configuration from the master server database.
Creates the restore script and the configuration files that are used to restore the client.
Allocates the boot server resources for the selected client recovery.
When you prepare to restore a client, you select the configuration to use for the restore, as follows:
For a standard restore (also known as a self restore, which is a restore to the same system), select the current configuration.
For other types of restores, select the configuration that you created for the restore.
To ensure that the restore includes the most recent data, Veritas recommends that you prepare to restore immediately before you restore a system.
To prepare a client for restore
- In the NetBackup Administration Console, expand Bare Metal Restore Management > Hosts > Bare Metal Restore Clients.
- Select a client or a client configuration.
- Select Actions > Prepare to Restore.
- In the Prepare to Restore Client dialog box, select the appropriate values for the restore.
Some fields may be completed depending on whether you selected a client or a client configuration.
If some other PTR options are selected, See BMR disk recovery behavior.
- Click OK.
Bare Metal Restore runs all the processes to prepare for a restore.
- After the processes finish, in the dialog box that appears, click OK.
The client is listed in the Bare Metal Restore Tasks in Queued state. The Prepare-To-Restore step may take few minutes to complete.
To clean up the restore configuration
- In the NetBackup Administration Console, click Bare Metal Restore Management > Bare Metal Restore Tasks.
- In the details pane, right-click the client for which you want to clean up the restore configuration.
- Select Clean Up from the shortcut menu.
The resources that the task uses are unallocated, the State is set to Done, and Status is set to 150, terminated by user.