Managing automated snapshots
You can remove all of the automated snapshots created by a schedule, specify that certain snapshots be preserved, or delete a schedule for a file system.
To remove all snapshots
- To automatically remove all of the snapshots created under a given schedule and file system name (excluding the preserved and online snapshots), enter the following:
Storage> snapshot schedule destroyall schedule_name fs_name
The destroyall command only destroys snapshots that are offline. If some of the snapshots in the schedule are online, the command exits at the first online snapshot.
This command does not destroy snapshots which are preserved or online or have active retention period.
Note:
The Storage> snapshot schedule destroyall command may take a long time to complete depending on how many snapshots are present that were created using schedules.
Preserved snapshots are never destroyed automatically or as part of the destroyall command.
Example 1: If you try to destroy all automated snapshots when two of the automated snapshots are still mounted, Access Appliance returns an error. No snapshots under the given schedule and file system are destroyed.
Storage> snapshot schedule destroyall schedule1 fs1 ACCESS snapshot ERROR V-288-1074 Cannot destroy snapshot(s) schedule1_7_Dec_2009_17_58_02_UTC schedule1_7_Dec_2009_16_58_02_UTC in online state.
Example 2: If you try to destroy all automated snapshots (which are in an offline state), the operation completes successfully.
Storage> snapshot schedule destroyall schedule2 fs1 100% [#] Destroy automated snapshots
To preserve snapshots
- To preserve the specified snapshots corresponding to an existing schedule and specific file system name, enter the following:
Storage> snapshot schedule preserve schedule_name fs_name snapshot_name
snapshot_name is a comma-separated list of snapshots..
To delete a snapshot schedule
- To delete a snapshot schedule, enter the following:
Storage> snapshot schedule delete fs_name [schedule_name]