About appliance factory reset
The purpose of an appliance factory reset is to return the appliance to a clean unconfigured factory state. The appliance is reset to its default factory settings and to the version that was installed at the factory. By default, a factory reset discards all storage configuration and data. When you initiate the factory reset, you can choose to retain the network configuration. In addition, you can specify whether to restart the appliance after the factory reset completes. Veritas recommends that you choose to automatically restart the appliance to avoid restarting the appliance manually. The appliance must be restarted after the factory reset operation.
When a node is in a cluster, the factory reset operation resets both the cluster nodes. You can factory reset both the cluster nodes without having to remove the nodes from the cluster. Additionally, during the factory reset operation, you can choose to erase data from the disks. If the node is not in a cluster, the factory reset operation resets the node and all the data on the shared storage is preserved.
During the factory reset process, the following components are reset:
Appliance operating system
Appliance software
Access software
Storage configuration and data
Network configuration (optional)
Disk erasure (optional)