Deleting home directories and disabling creation of home directories
You can delete a home directory share. This also deletes the files and sub-directories in the share.
After a home directory is deleted, if you try to access the same home directory again, a new home directory will automatically be created.
If you have an open file when the home directory is deleted, and you try to save the file, a warning appears:
Warning: Make sure the path or filename is correct.
Save dialog?
Click on the Save button which saves the file to a new home directory.
To delete a home directory share
- To delete the home directory of a specific user, enter the following:
CIFS> homedir delete username [domainname]
username
The name of the CIFS user. If a CIFS user name includes a space, enter the user name with double quotes.
Respond with y(es) or n(o) to confirm the deletion.
domainname
The domain it is located in.
You can delete all of the home directory shares with the CIFS> homedir deleteall command. This also deletes all files and subdirectories in these shares.
After you delete the existing home directories, you can again create the home directories manually or automatically.
To delete the home directories
- To delete all home directories, enter the following:
CIFS> homedir deleteall
Respond with y(es) or n(o) to confirm the deletion.
After you delete the home directories, you can stop Access Appliance serving home directories by using the CIFS> set homedirfs command.
To disable creation of home directories
- To specify that there are no home directory file systems, enter the following:
CIFS> set homedirfs
After these steps, Access Appliance does not serve home directories.